Appalachian Lullaby,,,


378781160_a412e36690

This is a song I wrote soon after my dad,,passed away..Some how it helped heal a 40 year old wound..In these trying times,,I hope people will look to the Lord for help and answers,,He is the only true source..I also hope some may hear these words and wait,,for answers prior to making quick moves..Every thing that looks good or easy,,usually has repercussions..Some times those with no say in decisions,, feel these repercussions the most..Some never find a voice to,,say how they feel,,and simply attempt to live with the pain.. This song is soon to be published..

                                  Appalachian Lullaby,,,

I left my heart in West Virginia,,at the tender age,,of nine years old,,,

For a place somewhere up in Ohio,,where there were job,,daddy had been told,,,

It was a land of promise,,up in Ohio,,where a man could feed,,his family,,,

But what use has food,,to a soul that’s dying,,it seemed a poor exchange to me,,,

To the earths four corners,,a generation scattered,,

far from their roots,,of generations past,,,

They did not know,,as the family parted,,

a tree with shallow roots,,can never last,,,

An Appalachian lullaby,,I can still hear the mountains cry,,,

As people left,, everything they’d known,,,

Seeking for a better job,,and home,,,

It was the end of family,,an all American tragedy,,,

an Appalachian lullaby,,makes you hang your head and cry,,,

There were trips back home,,til grandma,departed,,,

Then the trips grew fewer,,through the years,,,

Had grandma known,,what was to follow,,,

Her sweet blue eyes,,would have flowed with tears,,,

Now my daddy’s buried,,up in Ohio,,,

The children are scattered to the winds,,,

Far from their roots,,in West Virginia,,,

Where this child’s heart,,has always been,,,

To the earths four corners,,a generation scattered,,,

Far from their roots,,of generations past,,,

They did not know,,as the family parted,,,

A tree with shallow roots,,can never last,,,

An ,Appalachian lullaby,,I can still hear the mountains cry,,,

As people left,, everything they’d known,,,

Seeking for a better job,,and home,,,

It was the end of family,,an all American tragedy,,,

an Appalachian lullaby,,still makes me hang my head,and cry,,,

cause I left my heart in West Virginia ,, at the tender age of 9 years old ,,,

                                                                                                               c.d.m.03 

I pray for a great move of God upon our nation,,where the word of God flows, it brings life..Even to a struggling economy,,He still is on the Throne,,He still desires our good..Look up to the hills from where our help truly comes from,,its not Washington D.C.,But the mountain of the Lord..He is a THE good God,,Who desires good things for us..Look to Him, seek Him,and trust Him,He will not fail us..Acts2:21″And it shall come to pass,that” who so ever”shall call on the name of the Lord,shall be saved”..His name means salvation in Hebrew,,so when we call Jesus,,we are calling for salvation,,in every area of our lives.. People of God pray for our Land,,and do what you can,,to aid in these trying times..Pray the purpose’s of God are accomplished for ,,and in His Kingdom..I can say one thing like the Psalmist I’ve been young and now I am older,,but I have never seen the righteous forsaken,,He is faithful..Lets be His hands and keep some tragedy’s from happening..Be blessed and be a blessing,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,sis.c

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in angels, Anointing, Bible, faith, God, Grace of God, harvest, Headline News, healing, HELP!, Holy Spirit, I Need, Jesus, Love, Manna, Mountain Song, Music, needed, ohio poets, Open Door, poetry, prayer requests, relationship, S.E.Ohio, seeking, seeking for, sister cheryl, West Virginia, whispers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appalachian Lullaby,,,

  1. connetta says:

    I LOVE when you sing this lyric..it has such a lonesome sound.I feel fortunate to be one who heard it in song form…..it’s a good one C….one of your best.

  2. the watchmen says:

    Beautiful poem and great site Cheryl!

    Yes, we too will be waitin on His arrival

    Till He Comes

    Jim and Dorothy.

Leave a Reply

