Every Tub Must Sit On It’s Own Bottom [ farewell to the blame game ]


 

Holy Spirit

All my life I’ve heard the saying,  “Every  tub must sit on its own bottom.”  The circumstance surrounding the speaking of this particular warning was always the same. One of us children were trying to get around or away from correction.
Or readily admitting to guilt but blaming it on another, ”  They told me to do it.”   Then we would hear Grandma or Mom announcing, “Every tub must sit on its own bottom.”

What were they trying to tell us our bottoms would soon be so sore sitting would be difficult?  We never were quite sure. Of the correction we could always be sure.  What I considered then, the most unfair of treatment surely in all the world.  I now consider one of the greatest gifts ever bestowed upon me. Loving correction when I erred from the path.

Today it seems everything is some one else’s fault. Rarely do we hear some one say, “I did it blame me I’ll take the responsibility.” Much less then except the rewards of said blame.
I guess it’s always been the same even in the garden.  Cain said, “Am I my brothers keeper?”  Further back yet Adam said, ” The woman YOU gave me, Lord.”
Not only shifting the blame to Eve but even accusing the Lord. So I guess the blame game has been around a while.

I am even more assured it fails to shift the blame. Every pot indeed must set on its own bottom.
Romans 5:12 ” Wherefore as by one man sin entered into the world and death by sin and so death passed upon all men for that all have sinned.”
But thank the Lord for this verse 15: ” But not as the offence so also is the free gift. For if through the offence of one many be dead much more the grace of God, and the gift by grace, which is by one man, Jesus Christ, hath abounded to many.”
Bless His holy name.

We have free access to the very throne of God at all times. Through the shed blood of Jesus, the Son of God. The bible encourages us to come boldly to that seat of all authority;
Hebrews 4:16 “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in a time of need.”

An open door is set before us to come before the Creator of all heaven and earth, our Father.  Access to an earthly king is not given to us common folk nor to our president, or even our local mayor’s office.  Yet we are encouraged to come before our heavenly Father.

One thing that can hinder us in our access; the failure to come boldly.  Condemnation will prevent us,  condemnation is believing the accusations of the enemy,  using the vehicle of  thoughts toward us.  Sometimes our own thoughts are polluted by the accusations of the enemy.  Sometimes wrong teachings can condemn us.

Romans 8:1 tells us, “There is therefore now NO condemnation to them which are IN Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.”

What does this mean?  For those who base their faith and access on Jesus, and all that He accomplished on the cross, there is NO condemnation.  My salvation began in Him and is maintained in Him.

Now if I stray and enter in to sin; for example walk in un-forgiveness, the Holy Spirit will convict tug at my heart and say, “That’s not right.”  My response will determine my course, will I repent turn from that attitude. Say,” You are right forgive me, change me,”  and so enter back into right relationship.  Or will I play the blame game, “I wouldn’t feel this way if  THEY etc…”
The Lord taught us if we come to the altar [or throne] to offer a gift and there remember we have aught [anger] against our brother,  go and be reconciled, and then come back and offer our gift.
Blame shifting does not work, we can not have free access with out walking in fellowship with the Holy Spirit of God.  The blame game breaks that fellowship.

Notice with Adam and Cain the All knowing God knew of their sin and heart condition, yet went after them desiring to give them a chance to say, ” I did it, forgive me. ”
The blame game is what separated them. Don’t fall for that old trick. Let your tub sit or stand on its own bottom.   There is nothing no slight or offence worth losing access to the presence of the Lord. It is not much comfort to perhaps be right in a situation but wrong in attitude and so separated.

John 1:7 reads, “If we walk in the Light as He is in the Light, we have fellowship one with another and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.”
When the Lord says this is the path walk in it that is how He reveals light. When we except His words and walk in them that is walking in the Light.

From that place of obedience flows forgiveness, acceptance and fellowship.  Simply put LIFE.    Be honest with the Lord, let Him be Lord in your life. So you can come with boldness before His throne at all times.
Cheryl

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in angels, Anointing, Bible, doing His works, faith, God, harvest, healing, HELP!, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Love, Manna, ohio poets, Open Door, outpouring, Peace, prayer requests, prophecy, relationship, religion, sister cheryl, teaching, the Body, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

