Is This The Portal To The ‘Twilight Zone’,


jan-30th-083

The Twilight Zone

How did I get here
tell me what was my crime?
Was it growing older
with the passing of time?

If I can’t swallow medication
it’s recorded ‘Patient Refused.’
Or call someone by the wrong name
then it’s ‘ Patient’s Confused.’

I don’t feel like doing therapy
the nurse has the Doctor’s ear,
he will call-in what she requests
then I can’t think very clear.

When I get tired of probes and needles
and I raise up my hand,
I’m declared to be combative
and they call for Ativan.

Or should I become restless
cause medications don’t agree,
they decide it is ‘Alzheimers’
and then slap a patch on me.

If it appears, all I do of late
is lie in bed and moan;
it’s because my ‘Twilight Years’
have now become,’ The Twilight Zone.’

Who will be my voice
it seems I can’t articulate,
look on me and intervene
my friend before you share my fate.

c.d.m.3/15/09

Has anyone out there noted the treatment of the elderly?  If not please open your eyes and ears before you see a loved one in similar condition. These are not just words on a page, but a true report of what go’s on in many circumstances. Please pray about the treatment of the aged.  When they happen to go into a ‘rest home’, many even loose their private physicians. They are TOLD the house ‘doctor’ is now your Doctor. He of course is on the payroll of the facility. You can’t leave the facility because ‘ he’ must release you. It reminds me of the Twilight Zone , where all reality is altered.  Sadly tho it is the reality of many of our elderly,  prayer and our voices can make a difference.         Cheryl

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, Bible, Grace of God, Headline News, HELP!, Honor, Need, poetry, prayer requests, relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is This The Portal To The ‘Twilight Zone’,

  1. Larry Who says:

    Sadly, true.

  2. Betty Snyder says:

    Sad but true………I saw it happen with my grandpa…….I wasnt in charge of him and when I tried to intervene I was made to feel like I was interfering, that the doctor of the facility knows best………….(when I had seen and lived with him many years and truly knew something was amiss and that “amiss” situation was the drugs they were pouring into him) ……….sending him also into the “twilight zone”……haldol to name one…..drug…..awful……..He finally died there and I believe at an earlier age than if he were allowed to stay in his home and not drugged up….

Leave a Reply

