To Kiss The Yoke,


442406627_6b0a58e991

 

Matthew 11:28-30

Come unto Me,all you that labor and are heavy laden,and I will give you rest.Take My yoke upon you,and learn of Me,for I am meek and lowly of heart,and you shall find rest unto your souls.For My yoke is easy,and My burden is light.


 Yoke [Websters]1, A curved timber with attachments used for coupling draft animals,as oxen,usually having a bow at each end to receive the neck of the animal.

5, That which binds or connects;a bond;the yoke of love.


 

Strong’s Yoke;[Greek= Zugos] to join especially by a yoke,a coupling of servitude.


 

                                           To Kiss the Yoke

                          

                        To kiss the yoke,embrace the cross,

                         To count all else,in life a loss,

                         To bow the knee,recommit the heart,

                         Abide in Your peace,let the struggle depart,

                         These simple things,I long to do,

                         Because I’ve given,my life to You,

                         Please help me Lord,is what I pray,

                        To please You, in these things today,

                         To be consumed,within,without,

                         Delivered, from torment and doubt,

                         Alive in You,and dead to me,

                         Completely bound,completely free,

                         Caught up to heights,I’ve not yet seen,

                         No more entangled,in between,

                         To end it all,and start anew,

                          Completely lost my Lord,in You,

                          These simple words,frame my desire,

                          I’ll be the wood,You be the fire,

                          A wisp of smoke,and ashe I’ll be,

                          When Your work,is complete in me,

                          My mission,is to rest right here,

                          To trust You Lord,and not to fear,

                          To yield my will,that is my part,

                          As You consume,my willing heart,

                          To kiss the yoke,my will to give,

                          So small an act that in You,I might live.

                                                                                 c.d.m.2/07

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, Anointing, Grace of God, Love for God, Open Door, poetry, relationship, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Kiss The Yoke,

  1. Larry Who says:

    I’ve said this to Cindy, and I’ll say it to you, also. Are you writing a book? If not, you should be. This is an awesome poem.

Leave a Reply

