Paper dolls and Gossamer wings,


1469631932_588ab73530

                              Paper dolls and Gossamer wings,

   
  When you pause, and take the time to look, you notice quite a lot,
People come in every, color and size, yet we’re more alike, than not,
Yes, if you cut us, we will bleed, if you wound us, we will cry,
Leave us to ourselves, to long, we’ll curl up, and die,
I believe, that’s why our Maker, came down searching, long ago,
Cause when we can’t, or won’t reach up, He reaches, way down low,
He knows we can not, fill our voids, with knowledge, pleasures or things,
Apart from Him, that all amounts, to paper-dolls, and gossamer wings.c.d.m.5/22/09   

Searching, searching, searching, trying and buying, over and over, you hear the tales.We even have a large market in our society, for containers to hold our ‘stuff’, and ‘Pod’s’ or storage building’s we can rent, to store our excess ‘stuff’.

Yet nothing can fill the ‘black hole’ of emptiness inside of us, nothing that is , except for a daily living, breathing, relation ship with Jesus, our Savior.

I very clearly heard those words spoken quietly,deep down inside,while busy with my daily chores the other day. The Lord knows,if He speaks some thing softly to me,I will ‘bug’ Him til I hear, what it is He is wanting me to hear.  Usually [always] I need to hear it first,but He also knows I will share it,with who ever will listen. He made me that way.  My first thought about the subject was,they are both made of very flimsy material’s.Left to the element’s,they are easily destroyed.   And guess what,everything in this realm,is exposed to the elements,on a regular basis.  So I said,’o.k. Lord,what is it You are saying?’  He said,Every day our thoughts[and therefore our being’s]are being preoccupied with what amounts to ‘paper dolls and gossamer wings’.  No matter how BIG,a matter it appears to be at the moment. In the light of eternity,we will see how flimsy and unimportant it actually was.

Jesus said it this way,  Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon the earth,where moth and rust doth corrupt,and where thieves break through and steal. But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven,where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt and where thieves do not break through or steal. For WHERE your treasure is THERE will your heart be also.                                 Matthew 6 : 19-21

Treasure is what we deem valuable or of importance. We often hear those scripture’s quoted at offering time. It’s a valid text to use at that time,but I really believe, He was speaking of much more. A large section of regular tithe givers,are empty inside, from acting on the rule’s and neglecting,the relationship,that breathes life into our action’s. Many have not been taught by word or example,that the real ‘Treasure’ is our lives,our being’s. Our Lord still desires to come down and walk with us ,in the cool of the day.From that place of relationship and devotion,the action’s will follow. So ask for the grace,to develop the ability to store your ‘treasure’,[your life] in heaven. From there you will hear the words needful,to build your house [life] on the Rock. Matt.7:24 If not, we are building on ‘paper dolls and gossamer wings’.                    Cheryl

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, harvest, Humor, love of God, Manna, ohio poets, Open Door, relationship with God, Selah, Vision and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paper dolls and Gossamer wings,

  1. connetta says:

    Really enjoyed this post. I’m in the middle of moving & it is a time of throwing many things away. I find myself looking at stuff thinking “what did i ever hold onto this for?” Being a sculptor of paper mache i kept many oddball things. thinking i could use this or that. but all i had was a bunch of junk. I enjoyed reading this and it touched me deeply

  2. Larry Who says:

    What an awesome poem! It so perfectly describes most of us and how important the Lord is.

Leave a Reply

