A Sad Good-bye to Yesteryear


2152844034_479519d905

                                                             Today is a Good Old Day

In life there’s many story’s told,
if you have  an ear to hear.
Today I hear so many though
sadly compared to yesteryear.

When everything seemed better
hope was renewed each day.
But I wonder if back then
that’s what we’d hear them say.

Or then as now did they complain
of difficulties of the times.
The long forgotten miseries
that some how slip our minds.

I also have often thought
that things were better way back when,
and missed the blessings of the day
I now know that is sin.

Each day is filled with blessings
if we have eyes to see,
It seems it all depends on where
our focus is to me.

Hope does spring eternal
when our eyes are on the Lord
Who said to, “give our cares to Him”
and have our hope restored.

      Today is a ‘good old day’

                                                                       c.d.m.8/7/09

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, faith, Headline News, hope, Jesus, love of God, Peace, prayer requests, relationship with God, Selah, Vision and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sad Good-bye to Yesteryear

  1. connetta says:

    Hey, C…glad to see you back writing poetry….i personally think life is pretty had these days..where are the jobs we was promiced?? Life is tough out there..i think the old ays was a bit better cause now if you don’t make a thousand a month you can’t have electric-gas-water- home and car…and there are laws about living without water,gas and electric..so the old days, to me, was better than todays hard times…

Leave a Reply

