Depending on the Kindness of Strangers,


 

           The Kindness of Strangers

I once watched a lady,struggle with her groceries,
She could not see the curb, nor the danger,
I reached out to help her, she drew away saying,
” I’m not depending, on the kindness of strangers”,

Some call it ‘Ego’, others call it ‘Pride’,
but the moral of the story, stays the same,
A helping hand’s a helping hand, no matter who’s it is,
They’re only ‘strangers’, til you learn their name,

I saw a family grieving, having lost their loved one,
Now at the ‘mercy’, of the funeral arrangers,
Folks collected money, but they turned it down saying,
“We’re not depending, on the kindness of strangers,”

Some call it ‘Ego’, others call it ‘Pride’,
but the moral of the story, stays the same,
A helping hand’s a helping hand, no matter who’s it is,
They’re only ‘strangers’, til you learn their name,

I saw a poor soul sitting, by the side of the road,
In her hand she held a cup, out to strangers,
Etched into her face, was misery, and yet a grace,
Completely at the mercy, of strangers,

I asked her “Tell me madame, how you keep your sanity,
while depending on the kindness, of strangers”,
She smiled up and answered, “It’s never seemed to me,
that in the Family of God, there’s any strangers”.

                                        c.d.m.3-18-2010

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, doing His works, Friendship, Grace of God, Headline News, healing, HELP!, Holy Spirit, hope, I Need, Love for God, love of God, Manna, Need, ohio poets, Open Door, Peace, poetry, prayer requests, relationship, relationship with God, S.E.Ohio, seeking, Selah, teaching, the Body, Uncategorized, whispers, worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Depending on the Kindness of Strangers,

  1. Larry Who says:

    This is fabulous. It could easily be a song. (Don’t look at me for writing music. I only throw ideas out!)

Leave a Reply

