A House Divided,


2113081775_dc36f0f5e8

                                           A House Divided,,,

I happened once upon a house, in a crumbled, and overgrown state..

The shattered windows seemed to speak, ‘I just sit here, and wait’..

It saddened me, to see the waste, while many homeless be..

Included once, upon that list, was such a one, as me..

I wondered, how it came to be, the house was left, as this..

I listened, as the house spoke on, and slowly got the gist..

The sagging roof spoke,’Once ,I covered, all that lay within’..

The walls replied, ‘I did my share, and stood, against the wind’..

The floor said,’Yes, but it was I, the inhabitants,tread upon’..

 The foundation loudly proclaimed,’ It was I,that you ALL rested on’..

Empty now, of use  no more, I began, to understand..

A house divided, against its self, truly, can not stand..

                                                                                                     c.d.m. 3/3/09

 St.John 17:21,  That they all may be one, as Thou, Father, art in me, and I in Thee, that they may be one in Us, that the world may believe that Thou has sent Me.

One of the last recorded prayers of Jesus, prior to the cross. May it be answered in our lifetime. We all laugh, [at least inwardly] when we read of the brazen request ,of two of His disciples mother. The one who desired her sons to sit on either side of Him in heaven. Are we any more mature? Really? Or have we learned how to be more sly,with our thoughts and motives? How many have left church offended,privately thinking, they won’t make it without me. Or began to think, we have no need of others. Our Lord,while in the garden,requested prayer from His followers,three times. It always touches my heart, that when they failed to respond to His need, He never railed against them.Mark 14:41 And He cometh the third time,and said to them,Sleep on now, and take your rest, it is enough.            Lord, how we need to mature in His love. Join me in this pursuit,of being perfected in His love, of seeking to be part of His ‘one’ house. To the Glory of our Father.                                                        sis.c

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, doing His works, faith, Grace of God, harvest, Headline News, healing, Holy Spirit, Honor, hope, Humor, Jesus, laughter, Love, love of God, Manna, Need, ohio poets, Open Door, Peace, poetry, prayer requests, prophecy, relationship, religion, Selah, teaching, the Body, Vision, whispers, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A House Divided,

  1. Betty Snyder says:

    How sad it must make Jesus to see us time and time again fail to follow through…….we have big dreams and aspirations to do “so Much” for our God and then when the rubber meets the road so often we fail…….at the start and then quit altogether…I know , I for one am guilty……..I long to truly Love like Jesus loves………when I can truly love like that, then there will be no mountain or obstacle to stop me in DOING the things Jesus did while here..Father Help me, to truly walk the walk and talk the talk……..strengthen and equip me for the journey…….change me……help me to be more like you……indeed,………in deed……..

  2. Larry Who says:

    Abraham Lincoln stated: “A house divided against itself cannot stand…I do not believe the Union to be dissolved; I do not expect the house to fall, but I do expect it to cease to be divided. It will become all one thing or the other.”

    Sadly, this seems to be a true prophecy for us Americans today.

Leave a Reply

