Remembering..This Memorial Day


It is Saturday, I was working in my flowers, early to avoid the heat. As is normally my custom, I was half praying, half listening. When suddenly my uncle came to my mind, strongly. There would be nothing odd about that except, he passed away nearly 30 years ago.  I thought well Lord why would I feel him on my heart like this? I do not make a habit of praying for the dead, I believe when we leave this earth, our eternal future is settled. That’s why there is such a necessity, to pray for people while they are living.

 I do recall one instance in my life when, I was going through trials and really missing my cousin Mary.[ She had died prematurely at the age of 48, and was as dear as a sister to me. We shared family, our Lord, and profession. So we talked weekly over the phone, since she still lived in W.Va. and I in Ohio.]

 When I had this horrible sense of grief and loss come over me, I spoke to the Lord and said,”I know You told us not to talk [or seek guidance] from the dead, but I sure do miss Mary, Lord, and wish You would let her know’. I suddenly felt the comfort that only He can give, come over me. I sensed in my heart He had let her know.[we never got to say good-by] Then I wondered what would Mary have to say to me, I hesitated asking Him, I know the Word yet I felt I needed to ask Him. I said, ‘Lord what would Mary have to say to me, from that side of eternity’? What happened next amazed me , I felt Mary’s presence,not in some spooky way,in a comforting way. Then these words resounded in my being, ‘Pray for my son’. I know it’s weird, but it happened. Mary was a widow from about 26 yrs. to her death at 48. She had one son Eric, and one grand son Brandon. They made up her heart in this earth. I know the Lord allowed me to hear her prayer, so I would see what truly matters, from an eternal prospective.

When I began to ‘feel’ my uncle today, I didn’t have to reach far to know what it meant.  He too has children living, and there is always the need for prayer. So I began to lift them up. Then I felt like the Lord wanted me to share this word with you. So this year when we remember those who have passed, lets really honor them, and pray for their living family members. May the circle be unbroken.

                                                                                                  Cheryl
Here is a link,for a poem written for Mary.
http://whispersoftheday.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/mary-and-me/

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, doing His works, dreams, Friendship, harvest, Honor, love of God, Manna, needed, ohio poets, Peace, prayer requests, relationship, relationship with God, religion, Selah, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering..This Memorial Day

  1. Larry Who says:

    Sounds scriptural to me, as in the story Jesus told about the rich man and poor Lazarus.

Leave a Reply

