Making our Mark


I looked into her room,while on late rounds, that night,
She sat there in her rocker, bathed within, the lamp light,
I walked in to ask her,”Is there anything, you need,”
She sat there, with her Bible,  opened up to read,
Her gaze, shifted upward, as these words she said,
“More years lay behind me, than there are, that lay ahead,”
I asked her,”Are you frightened, or are you ready to go?”
She answered,”I’m as ready, as any soul can Know,
This life, is a montage, of moments spent in time,
They dance, in your memories, and glide through your mind,
If there’s other, to share them, they go on for an age,
If not, they are gone, like the turning of a page,
Those nearest, to our hearts, will most likely be,
Marked well, by our lives, and our shared memories,
So it’s not, our achievements, nor the accolade’s of men,
That tell our Life-story, when once, our lives end,
No , it’s the lives we have touched,the love we have shone,
That lives on, in the memories, of those we have known,
So make sure your mark, in this world, is made clear,
And you’ll share my peace, when your end comes, my Dear.”
c.d.m. 9-12-10

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, faith, Friendship, Grace of God, Holy Spirit, Honor, hope, Jesus, Love, love of God, Manna, ohio poets, Open Door, Peace, poetry, prayer requests, relationship, relationship with God, religion, S.E.Ohio, seeking, Selah, teaching, Uncategorized, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

