Annie


Annie

A sad good-by, to you Annie,
You were “mama’s” girl, for so long,
All tho, I never bore you,
I helped you, grow up to be strong,
Twenty-one years, I’ve tended you,
Since your real mom, passed away,
After twenty-one years,I must say good-by,
and bury you, today,

If there is a”cow heaven”,
I know that’s where you’ll be,
Running in knee-high pasture,
and keeping an eye out for me.

Miss you girl…

c.d.m. 1-29-11

My cow died yesterday,we have to bury her today. Real farmers thought love was wasted on a cow and we should have sold her, instead of retiring her at 17.  My husband said, she was born here, raised here, gave us 14 healthy calf’s, and no problems. I raised her on a bottle after her mother died having her. [thus the name “Orphan Annie”] She deserves to die here, in peace and love and not be shipped off for hamburger. So she has and she is, at peace and loved. Let those “real farmers” laugh, we’ve done what was in our hearts…

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Honor, Humor, Love, love of God, ohio poets, Peace, poetry, relationship, S.E.Ohio, Selah, The Poets Nook, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annie

  1. Brandy Stepman says:

    It was extremely interesting for me to read this article. Thank you for it. I like such themes and anything that is connected to this matter. I would like to read more on this blog soon.

    Brandy Stepman
    mobile phone jamming

Leave a Reply

