Maybe He Should Have,


A parable was spoken, by the Saviour  long ago,
the content’s of the parable, I am sure you know,

The parable of the Father, who had two precious son’s,
One who stayed beside Him, the Other who just runs,

One who labored daily, with all his heart and soul,
The Other shirking duty,who finally lost control,

One who served so faithfully, to build up hearth and home,
The Other took more than his share, so he could freely roam,

The Lord spoke of the Love, that  the Gracious Father bore,
That tho differing in natures, He loved neither more,

He waited for the Wanderer, to change and to turn back,
While Son one labored faithfully, that there should be no lack,

When Wanderer finally returns, a party must be thrown,
From the Faithful son’s labor,what his hand had raised and grown,

They celebrate all day and night, until the stars depart,
Then a heavy shadow fall’s, across  the Faithful’s heart,

Then Father asks him, ‘Tell me son,what is wrong with you’,
‘Don’t you know all that is Mine,  is surely yours son, too’,

Faithfuls heart tho wrong, I can completely understand,
I never read of his applause, at the Father’s hand,

Now I’m sure that this could only be, a careless oversight,
That the author’s of the Gospel’s, in their telling failed to write,

For the Heavenly Father never fails, to give and show His Love,
Or to shower His encouragement on us, from up above,

In the writing of this poem today, my thoughts surrounded you,
And of all your giving act’s of love, the pleasing thing’s you do,

I’ve realized I do not want, to follow that example,
But to send applause to you my child, while the time is ample,

Tho differing in nature’s, I tell you, I love neither more,
But your faithfulness, and giving heart, WILL open Heaven’s store.

 I love you and applaud you, your Mother,4-4-11
                                    c.d.m.

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, doing His works, Grace of God, healing, Holy Spirit, Honor, love of God, Manna, Need, Open Door, Peace, poetry, Selah, teaching, whispers, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe He Should Have,

  1. Larry Who says:

    Great revelation and teaching.

  2. easylifestyles says:

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time sitting down to writing short stories and poems is something I truly enjoy in life. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    A Great Day for Spring – Poem

Leave a Reply

