The Wanderer


Adrift in a sea of perplexity.

That’s how it seems if Your not guiding me.

Cautiously each step I take with fear.

For the cause of not sensing Your presence near.

Why do I stumble on in dark of night?

When Only Your guidance will give to me sight.

I tremble and press on I merely survive.

It’s you and Your presence; that make me alive.

The Wanderers wondering,”Why is it so,

I sit here in misery when home I could go?”

God grace me with faith to arise and step out.

Deliver my soul from all angst and doubt.

Then I as a child could cling once again;

to He Who delivered my soul from all sin.

So there in your lap near the warmth of Your chest;

this wandering drifter could curl up and rest.

Gather Me Home Lord.

c.d.m. 4-22-11

Just pictured this, when I woke up this morning. Have you ever been there?  Would you admit to it, if you have? Just ‘wondering’.

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, faith, Grace of God, HELP!, Holy Spirit, I Need, Jesus, love of God, Manna, ohio poets, Passion, Peace, poetry, relationship, religion, Selah, The Poets Nook, whispers, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wanderer

  1. Larry Who says:

    I’ve been there and it does feel like being adrift on a sea of perplexity. Great poem!

Leave a Reply

