Angel’s Unaware


DSCI1114

In 1973; I first saw her on the bench,
beneath the tree on the median strip.
I’d just started a job at Katie’s Cafe,
after coming back to town from a trip.

There she would sit day in and day out
with her grocery cart, at her side.
All her possessions stuffed into the cart;
on that park bench did the ‘Lady’, reside.

Folk’s came to dine at Katie’s Cafe,
some laughed at the ‘Lady’ out there.
I’d peek out the window at the poor old soul;
with the sad wrinkled face and grey hair.

At times I would sneak her a sandwich,
a cup of coffee, slice of cake, just a taste.
Cause everyday they tossed out the leftovers,
and it grieved me to see such waste.

One evening just about closing time
I was gathering the ‘Lady’ a bite.
When Katie crept up behind me and saw
she spoke,”Tonight will be your last night.”

I told her,”It will just be thrown out,
better to give,  than to throw it away.”
Kate responded,”This is a business,
I can’t feed all the neighborhood strays.”

Well I gathered my purse stopping at the door
spoke,”There’s something I need to share,
be sure to be kind to strangers Kate,
we can entertain angels unaware.”

Kate never replied so I went to my room
upstairs, at the Empress Hotel.
Got ready for bed and turned out the light
when I heard the first siren wail.

I heard people running in the hallway,
so I went to my window and looked down.
There at the backdoor of Katie’s Cafe
lay a body, sprawled out on the ground.

I pressed through the crowd to find Katie
she shook, with confusion on her face.
There lay the cart by the ‘Lady’,
her possessions strewn all over the place.

“A man came out of nowhere and so did she,”
Katie said, with a tear in her eye.
“She ran him down just to save me
now she’s dead,” I heard Katie cry.

“You were right in your words about strangers;
to help them and not pass them by.
This ‘Lady’ was a stranger and an angel,
but I never knew; an angel could die.”

So be sure to be kind to strangers.
You don’t know when you may be in need.
You can harvest from fields of kindness;
but you must first plant, ‘angels’ seed.

                    c.d.m.    5-2-11

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Grace of God, Headline News, Need, ohio poets, Open Door, Peace, poetry, Selah, teaching, The Poets Nook, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Angel’s Unaware

  1. Larry Who says:

    Great story. You had me from the first line.

  2. What a wonderful story! Jesus said that when we care for “the least of these,” for those like this Lady on the bench, then we are caring for Him. It saddens me that there is such waste in the name of business, while others go hungry. I love that your story ended with Katie learning a valuable lesson and perhaps going on to be more thoughtful and caring with her daily leftovers. Peace, Linda

  3. Irene Davis says:

    This is good, There are truth to these words…..

  4. Mike Jones says:

    Cool story and told very well.

Leave a Reply

