What Would it Take?


2081431222_89f75cbb0e_m

Tell me what would it take
to make a “blackbird” smile?
I’ve pondered this question
off and on for a while.

I pass them on the roadway
walking single file.
They wave at passer’s by
but they do not smile.

I respect their tradition,
of austerity.
Still it seems a happy child
should smile to me.

I wonder if they ever have
a time to just play
out chasing butterflies
on a sun lit day.

In the midst of their frolic
do they laugh with glee?
It seems a happy child
should smile, to me.

So tell me,

What does it take,
to make a “black bird” smile?
You see I’ve pondered this question
for quite a while.

c.d.m.   12/31/09

I often pass children walking along the back roads to school,and concern rises in my heart for them. Please add your prayers with mine for these ones who are so sheltered, and yet must live in a cruel and dangerous world.                     cheryl

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, doing His works, Grace of God, Headline News, HELP!, laughter, Love, ohio poets, Open Door, poetry, prayer requests, relationship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Would it Take?

  1. Nice poem, but all the prayer in the world won’t help… gods are make-believe…They can’t hear you.

  2. Cheryl says:

    My God is very real,not only does He hear, but He answers my prayers. Thanks for the compliment,I’ll add you to my prayer list. Cheryl

  3. Thanks for nothing on the add. You say your god is real, and that he hears and answers your prayer. Who is this god? It can’t be the god of the bible. He is obviously a fake. Is it one of those guys that say he is a god, but is really just a loon? If that is the case he can hear you and answer your prayers to a point.

    Would you be willing to prove that your god is real?

  4. Cheryl says:

    Can I call you Zeb? I know my God is real from 45 years of relationship. From times of his devine intervention, at times when I literally would have died. From the fact doctors said I would never get pregnant, much less carry a child, because of sin and disease, and He blessed me with two daughters. I have seen His hand heal, deliver and set people free. He has shown love and mercy to me, I did not and do not deserve it, yet He does.I know He is real because of His love,and patience,because of the open door he has set before me, that door is open to you too.I am sorry if some one has hurt you. It wasn’t me and it wasn’t Him. Cheryl

  5. You may call me Zeb. I will leave you alone then. I was looking for verifiable proof. I have not been hurt, past being lied to my whole life. I can see from your reply that you are not one of those Christians. the ones who judge and hate. Where I am from most fit into that category. Sorry to trouble you. I just what people to think for themselves.

  6. connetta says:

    I’m 57 years old..and i have ALWAYS believed in God. It was my own choice as a child what i wanted to believe. Many times God has blessed me and answered my prayers. I’m afraid not to believe because without God life would be much harder for me.
    This is a good post Cheryl..life is a very dangerous place, not just for the Amish Kids, but for all children. I worry every time my grand kids walk down a street or road…We should pray for all children to stay safe in these troubled times.

  7. Cheryl says:

    Zeb, you are not a bother to me or to the Lord. Your welcome here any time. He too wants us to think for ourselves, that’s why He lovingly gave us free will. I pray His love shines on your heart and removes every scar left by the careless, love Cheryl

  8. tulip1810 says:

    Cheryl, I too would be happy to pray with you for those children who are going through troubled times and have such heavy hearts! Mona

  9. Cheryl says:

    Thanks Mona,prayer really is the answer for our times and needs.God bless ,love C

  10. Larry Who says:

    Great poem and discussion. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

