The Empty Place


3820095641_5671fbc861_m

A silence fell across the room,
so burdensome all could feel it’s weight.
The children’s hearts all skipped a beat,
while staring down at dinner plates.

““

Someone cried out,” Tell us Abba,
what is this sorrow, till now unknown?”
His eyes smiled as he looked about,
then spoke in a melancholy tone.

““

“Do you not see the empty place
where once your sister sat at table?
To bear this pain without a show,
calls for much more than I AM able.”

““

For where faith lives there is yet hope,
the void of both is unbearable.
The path she’s now descending on
is but lifeless, dark and terrible.

““

To trade all of eternity
for a fleeting life so temporal,
or leave The Living Sacrifice,
for not but empty ritual.

““

Brings in death, where Life once dwelt
when trading faith, for works and sweat.
Deception enters stealthily,
beware, for it’s fruit is sad regret.

          c.d.m.   4/23/2013

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, love of God, poetry, relationship with God, safe travel prayers, Selah, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Empty Place

  1. Larry Who says:

    “…“Do you not see the empty place/ where once your sister sat at table?…”

    If only, we Christians paid enough attention to other believers so that we’d notice they were struggling, but sadly we don’t. The reason: we might have to help them which could cost us time, money, and effort. We are the generation of believers who embrace apathy, lethargy, and compromise, but then we wonder why America has problems. Duh!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Sadly Larry, this is a poem about some family members, who have denied Jesus as Savior, and joined Judaism. Thus the lines ;

    or leave The Living Sacrifice,
    for not but an empty ritual.

    Needless to say my heart is broken, for I believe 2 John 7-11
    The hatred some of them voice towards Christians is unbelievable.
    Life is in Jesus Christ alone,

  3. Larry Who says:

    When it comes to family members, I’m one stubborn guy. I hold onto Acts 16:31 and remind the Lord that the worst of the worst was me and His mercy still cut through my denials and saved me. I also pray outlandish prayers like, “Lord, dangle them over Hell and let the fires touch their toes if You need to, but save them.”

    Yes, not everyone will be saved, but with family, we can go to the nth and the Father listens.

Leave a Reply

