When Money becomes our God


christian

This subject has weighed heavy on my heart, of late. A subject few like to hear about, even many in ‘church’ circles. At times when ‘the subject’ is mentioned, you can almost literally feel the weight of the wet blanket, come over the meeting-house. There is such an adverse re-action to ‘the subject’, that I have always shied away from teaching on ‘ it ‘. I was ordained in 1984, soon to be thirty years, and I have yet to really teach upon ‘this subject.’
My husband and I have co-pastored since 2000. Yet we have neither one really taught on giving or tithing. While we have believed and shared in the benefit of both, [ there is, you know] we have failed the Lord and the body, by basically ‘protecting’ ourselves from the ‘wet blanket’ and its horrid application. However the times and the Holy Spirit, are weighing heavier on my heart, than my desire to avoid ‘the subject’.

You see I truly believe the title of this post is a fact of the economic times, and the spiritual times we are now living in. See if Money is your God, [or who or what you depend upon for a life source] when Money is gone than so is your ‘god’. You can very easily see why this subject is of importance today.

Jesus lived in this realm and was subject to the same laws of both nature and government as we are. When a need came up He did not go to Herod and ask him to help Him. He did not go to family, He went to God.

In Matthew the need for taxes came up for both Peter and Jesus. The Lord instructed Peter to go fish.
Matt 17:27; Notwithstanding, lest we should offend them, go thou to the sea, and cast a hook, and take up the fish that first cometh up; and when thou hast opened his mouth, thou shalt find a piece of money: that take, and give unto them for me and thee.
Where did Jesus get this idea? The same place He received every idea, or parable, or word. From His Father and ours.

John 8:28; Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

Repeatedly Jesus spoke that all He did and all He spoke, flowed from all He heard or beheld in the Father. Notice Jesus referred to the Father as His God also.

John 20:17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God.
In case you missed it earlier, a God is one you depend upon. Just as a Father is the one who cares for you and watches out for you from birth. [For the fortunate ones]
Relationship follows care. If you don’t believe me ask the crying baby, that wants to be fed or changed. Nurture fore-runs relationship.
The Father in heaven longs to tend to our needs, in all area’s.

Luke 12;22 And he said unto his disciples, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat; neither for the body, what ye shall put on.
23 The life is more than meat, and the body is more than raiment.
24 Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap; which neither have storehouse nor barn; and God feedeth them: how much more are ye better than the fowls?
25 And which of you with taking thought can add to his stature one cubit?
26 If ye then be not able to do that thing which is least, why take ye thought for the rest?
27 Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.
28 If then God so clothe the grass, which is to-day in the field, and to-morrow is cast into the oven; how much more will he clothe you, O ye of little faith?
29 And seek not ye what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink, neither be ye of doubtful mind.
30 For all these things do the nations of the world seek after: and your Father knoweth that ye have need of these things.
31 But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you.
32 Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.

A question to all of us today, who truly is our God, our source of peace, our supply, our nurturer? The one we trust in.

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, Anointing, Grace of God, love of God, Manna, ohio poets, Open Door, religion, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

