Seeking Real Leaders


469079231_2ca4cd1228As a child I heard a great men speak;
of serving others, rather than ourselves.
My young heart was moved with aspirations;
his murder put my dreams upon a shelf.

Another stood tall on the podium,
he taught love and the brotherhood of man.
I longed to go join in the marches,
then they shot the man who wrote from Birmingham.

Another sought to rise up and lead us,
and he shared the ideals of his brother.
From the darkness, a lone sniper shot him.
So most lost hope there could be another.

 Look upon the shameless way of many.
Deception seems their only stratagem.
Children seeking leaders, don’t find any.
Where are the giants to inspire them?

I weep for the future generations.
Those who search for a reason to believe.
Where’s the honored ones to lead this nation?
From this current shameful state bring reprieve.

Listen all who aim to serve in office.
Check hearts as only you and God can do.
America needs those willing to serve her.
The children of the land are watching you.

          c.d.m. 1/27/14

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, ohio poets, Open Door, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

