The Shepherd of the Spotted Lamb


Cold and shivering, he came forth,
into this world, that night,
His  breath of life, shone clearly,
in the moon’s, cascading light,
His Mother, gently loving him,
Her darling, baby boy,
His spots, did not disquiet her,
nor steal, that Mother’s joy,

The Shepherd, checked in on them,
just before, the break of dawn,
The spotted lamb, was nursing,
shaking legs he stood upon,
The shepherd knew, the value,
of his herd, had just went down,
For spotted lambs, went cheaply,
at the market sale, in town,

Cold and shivering, He came forth,
into this world, that night,
His  Breath of Life, shone clearly,
in the moon’s, cascading light,
His Mother, gently loving Him,
Her darling, Baby Boy,
There He laid,The Spotless Lamb ,
Source of, Eternal Joy,

The shepherds came, to worship,
called by Angel’s, from above,
There, in a lowly manger,
they beheld, the Father’s Love,
The value of the spotted lambs,
was costly, now they knew,
The Spotless, came as ransom,
for the spotted, me and you…

c.d.m.  9-29-10

The idea for this poem came from a second-hand picture.  I purchased it at the Salvation Army,a few years ago,and it quickly became my favorite. I saw in it what I wrote in the poem. The great Shepherds heart for all of us.

I had watched a T.V. show about sheep rearing and had learned about how spotted lambs are of little value. Due to the wool needing so much effort to separate the light from the dark. The story-teller stated that many sheep growers,’cull’ the herd of spotted lambs. It struck me how much we are like those ‘spotted lambs’, and how thankful I am for our Great Shepherd. Then I came across my picture and so…

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.married [38 yrs],with 2 daughters, 3 grandkids,and 6 step grandkids.Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 39 yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in Agape, angels, Anointing, Bible, Grace of God, Headline News, hope, Jesus, love of God, Manna, ohio poets, Open Door, Passion, Peace, poetry, relationship with God, seeking, Selah, teaching, The Poets Nook, whispers, worship, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Shepherd of the Spotted Lamb

  1. Tracie Donaldson says:

    Oh this is beautiful, really touched me.

  2. ventamatic says:

    sweet

Leave a Reply

