Words


beauty

‘ You cannot take the other’s place ‘
words I once spoke in haste.
Now that your gone, I find I wish
those words I could replace.

I hope somehow, somewhere out there
that you hear what I say.
Your place cannot be taken and
I’ll miss you ev’ry day.

I’ve learned a vital lesson; one
I hope not to forget.
Life’s short we must watch what we say,
so we won’t have regret.

c.d.m.12/17/15

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.I have been married 43 yrs, with 2 daughters, 3 grandchildren Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 42yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in angels, ohio poets, Open Door, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Words

  1. Larry Who says:

    Is there a story here?

  2. Cheryl says:

    Lost my cousin this week. She once said she wanted to be my, ” first best cousin.” Her sister had been. I said without thinking, “You can’t take someone else’s place.” Not thinking, I should have went further and said ,” you have your own place.” Very hard lesson. She was 55.Went in her sleep, but she had come to know the Lord.:)

    .

  3. Larry Who says:

    I’m glad I asked because this is one of those great stories we can all identify with.

Leave a comment