Oft Speak To me of Love [for Valentines Day]


2751507288_7b25745b2b

Poet’s oft speak of love in such flowery terms
I don’t get what they’re trying to say.
It almost makes me shy away from divulging
how my lover shows love in his way.

Now I’m the word craftsman between he and I
yet he writes poetry silently.
I’ll share a few lines of his work if you like
then you’ll see how he sweet talks me.

Like the day I was trying to mow on a hill
then he hollered out, “Hey I’ll get that”.
If I did not know how he writes poetry
we may have gotten into a spat.

Whenever the labor is heavy or hard
He bears the load for me.
Some girls would call that chauvinistic
but I call that, poetry.

When he says,”Lets go for a ride Babe.”
Then climbs up on the tractor seat.
To go look at the hay or a brand new calf
I call that poetry, sweet.

Thirty-five years of devotion and love
faithfully penned every day.
Now that is some kind of poetry
That mere words could never convey.

c.d.m.5/28/09

About Cheryl

I'm from W.Va. living in Ohio.I have been married 43 yrs, with 2 daughters, 3 grandchildren Live on a small farm, and have been an ordained minister since 1984.My husband and I both work, he in a factory, and I as a private care-giver. Moved around a lot in my younger yrs. have been planted here 42yrs. Love the Lord, my family, my country and my life. Glad to meet you.
This entry was posted in angels, Anointing, Honor, Love, ohio poets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oft Speak To me of Love [for Valentines Day]

  1. Larry Who says:

    You’re just like the plow who said, “Pull me a little closer John Deere.”

  2. Cheryl says:

    A perfect addition Larry.

Leave a comment